Math entrance exam guide
University College Absalon Math Entrance Exam (OMPT)
University College Absalon accepts OMPT-B or OMPT-D for its English-taught Bachelor of Engineering in Biotechnology.
Which OMPT module does University College Absalon require?
| Programme | Faculty / campus | OMPT module | Min. score | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bachelor of Engineering in Biotechnology | University College AbsalonZealand | OMPT-B or OMPT-D | Not stated | Used under the Individual Competence Assessment (ICA) route; no minimum score published on the official page. |
Requirements can change between admission cycles. Always confirm the current requirement on the official programme page before applying.
University College Absalon OMPT requirements at a glance
University College Absalon publishes an OMPT requirement for 1 programme on its official admission pages. The modules involved are OMPT-B, OMPT-D. Grouped by module, the programmes are:
- OMPT-B or OMPT-D: Bachelor of Engineering in Biotechnology
What the OMPT test for University College Absalon looks like
Question count, time limit, number of syllabus topics and the study time the test provider suggests for each module referenced above. The syllabus pages list every chapter with worked example questions.
OMPT-B covers 10 chapters: Numbers, Algebra, Linear formulas and equations, Systems of linear equations, Quadratic equations, Functions, Exponential functions and logarithms, Differentiation, Trigonometry, Integration.
OMPT-D covers 11 chapters: Numbers, Algebra, Linear formulas and equations, Systems of linear equations, Quadratic equations, Functions, Exponential functions and logarithms, Differentiation, Trigonometry, Geometry, Integration.
When to take the OMPT for a University College Absalon application
OMPT results arrive within 8 business days and a test slot has to be booked at least 72 hours in advance, so the last safe test date is about 12 calendar days before the application deadline. If you want one retake in reserve, sit the first attempt about 38 days before the deadline. Most programmes allow up to three attempts, each at the full fee, but some count only the first attempt, so confirm the rule on the programme page linked in the table.
Each attempt costs €240 (OMPT-A, B, C, E, G) or €270 (OMPT-D, F). A full-length timed mock before the first paid attempt shows whether you are already above the minimum score. How to book the OMPT, step by step.
How to prepare for the University College Absalon math admission test
Exam.ify builds independent, timed practice tests that mirror the structure and difficulty of each OMPT module referenced above. Start with the module your target programme requires:
University College Absalon OMPT requirements explained
University College Absalon accepts OMPT-B or OMPT-D for one programme, the English-taught Bachelor of Engineering in Biotechnology, as part of its Individual Competence Assessment (ICA) route for applicants who lack the standard mathematics qualification. No minimum score and no attempt rule are published. Examify verified this on the official admission page on 23 July 2026.
University College Absalon OMPT requirements by programme
| Programme | Faculty/campus | OMPT module | Minimum score | Attempt rule / notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bachelor of Engineering in Biotechnology | University College Absalon, Zealand | OMPT-B or OMPT-D | Not stated | Used under the Individual Competence Assessment (ICA) route; no minimum score or attempt limit published |
Absalon is the only Danish institution in our list, and its OMPT use is narrow. The test is not a general admission requirement; it appears on the Biotechnology page as one way to close a mathematics gap through the ICA route, which is the assessment Absalon runs for applicants whose prior schooling does not match the formal entry requirement. Applicants who already meet the mathematics requirement through their diploma do not need it.
Three things are not on the page: a minimum percentage, an attempt limit, and a validity period. The old version of this post said the same, and it is still true. The page does not list SAT, ACT, CCVX or Boswell-Bèta as alternatives either. Because none of these rules is published, the safe reading is "ask admissions", not "no threshold". Examify is independent and not affiliated with the OMPT, SOWISO or any university.
Which OMPT module University College Absalon uses and what it looks like
Absalon accepts two modules and leaves the choice to the applicant. Format facts are from the official syllabus pages on omptest.org.
| OMPT-B | |
|---|---|
| Questions | 64 |
| Time | 150 min (about 2.3 min per question) |
| Chapters / topics | 10 chapters, 226 topics |
| Suggested prep (official) | ~100 h |
OMPT-B covers Numbers, Algebra, Linear formulas and equations, Systems of linear equations, Quadratic equations, Functions, Exponential functions and logarithms and Differentiation, then adds Trigonometry and Integration. The questions are short and there are many of them, so pace matters as much as coverage. Chapter list: OMPT-B syllabus.
| OMPT-D | |
|---|---|
| Questions | 21 |
| Time | 180 min (about 8.6 min per question) |
| Chapters / topics | 11 chapters, 242 topics |
| Suggested prep (official) | ~120 h |
OMPT-D has the same ten chapters as OMPT-B plus Geometry, and each of its 21 questions chains several topics. It costs €270 per attempt against €240 for OMPT-B. For an applicant who only needs Absalon's requirement, OMPT-B is the cheaper and shorter route; OMPT-D is worth considering only if another programme on your list asks for it. Chapter list: OMPT-D syllabus.
University College Absalon OMPT minimum score in context
Absalon publishes no threshold, which puts it outside the pattern of most OMPT partner programmes. Those set a minimum between 60% and 75%: Maastricht School of Business and Economics asks 75% on OMPT-A, Erasmus IBEB asks 70% and counts only the first attempt, Tilburg asks 70% with a maximum of two attempts, and Radboud sits low at 55% on OMPT-D.
Without a published figure, the sensible target is the top of that range. Plan for 70% or better on a full-length mock before you book, which leaves a margin of 10 to 15 points over the most common thresholds, and confirm Absalon's actual expectation in writing with the admissions office so that a score in hand is not assessed against a rule you did not know about. How thresholds compare across universities is in OMPT passing scores.
How to prepare for the University College Absalon OMPT test
The plan below assumes OMPT-B and its official estimate of about 100 hours. For OMPT-D, add Geometry, budget 120 hours and run the timed drills at 8.6 minutes per question instead of 2.3.
- Sit a timed diagnostic before you study. Start with the free OMPT practice test to learn the answer box, then take a full 64-question, 150-minute mock such as Examify's OMPT-B generation-1 mock and score it per chapter, not just overall.
- Rank the ten chapters from weakest to strongest and split the remaining hours accordingly. Numbers, Linear formulas and equations and Systems of linear equations are usually quick to clear; Functions, Differentiation, Trigonometry and Integration take most of the budget.
- Work in the real answer format from the first week. The OMPT grades a typed final answer with a computer algebra system, so a correct method with an ambiguous final expression earns nothing.
- From the second week, time every practice set at 2.3 minutes per question and set a halfway checkpoint at 75 minutes.
- Take a second full mock about two weeks before your intended test date. If you are at 70% or higher with the weak chapters closed, book. If you are more than 10 points short, move the date rather than spend an attempt.
For a realistic calendar, read how long OMPT preparation takes and the week-by-week version in improve your OMPT score in 30 days. If you are unsure whether the test is within reach at all, how hard is the OMPT sets expectations.
Booking, deadlines and results for University College Absalon applicants
The provider's rules set your latest test date; Absalon's application deadline is on its own pages and we do not repeat it here. A slot has to be booked at least 72 hours in advance. Each attempt is paid separately: €240 for OMPT-B, €270 for OMPT-D. Results and the certificate arrive within 8 business days, which is 10 to 12 calendar days, so the last safe test date is about 12 calendar days before the date you need the result. If you want one retake in reserve, count back 38 days: 12 for results, 14 to fix weak chapters and rebook, 12 for the second result.
Because Absalon publishes no attempt rule, confirm with admissions whether a retake is accepted under the ICA route before you rely on that reserve. The step-by-step booking process is in how to book the OMPT, and the programme summary with its source link is on the University College Absalon page.
{name} OMPT: frequently asked questions
- Which OMPT module does University College Absalon require?
- University College Absalon lists 1 programme with an OMPT requirement, using OMPT-B, OMPT-D. The most common requirement is OMPT-B or OMPT-D, asked for by 1 programme. The exact module for each programme is in the table above, sourced from the university's own admission page.
- How do I prepare for the University College Absalon OMPT test?
- Start with a full-length timed mock of the module your programme requires (OMPT-B, OMPT-D) to find your weak chapters, then work through those chapters on the syllabus page. Examify builds independent practice tests for every OMPT module; it is not affiliated with the official test provider.
- Which OMPT module does University College Absalon require for Biotechnology?
- The admission page for the Bachelor of Engineering in Biotechnology lists OMPT-B or OMPT-D as accepted tests under the Individual Competence Assessment (ICA) route, for applicants whose prior schooling does not cover the mathematics requirement. Either module is accepted; OMPT-B is the shorter of the two (64 questions, 150 minutes) and OMPT-D is the longer, upper-level one (21 questions, 180 minutes).
- What is the minimum OMPT score for University College Absalon?
- No minimum score is published. The official admission page names OMPT-B and OMPT-D but does not state a percentage, and Examify found none elsewhere on the site when we verified the page on 23 July 2026. Most programmes that use the OMPT set their threshold between 60% and 75%, so a mock score in that range with a margin is a reasonable working target until Absalon confirms its own figure.
- How many OMPT attempts does University College Absalon allow?
- The page does not publish an attempt rule. Some universities count only the first attempt (Erasmus School of Economics for IBEB) and Tilburg University caps attempts at two, so an unpublished rule is not the same as unlimited attempts. Ask Absalon's international admissions office before you treat a first booking as a trial run.
- Does University College Absalon accept alternatives to the OMPT?
- The admission page we verified names OMPT-B and OMPT-D as the tests accepted under the Individual Competence Assessment route and does not list SAT, ACT, CCVX or a Boswell-Bèta certificate as alternatives. If your situation is unusual, the ICA route itself is the mechanism for having other evidence assessed, so contact admissions rather than assume another test will count.
- Should I choose OMPT-B or OMPT-D for Absalon?
- Since both are accepted and no score is published, the practical choice is OMPT-B. It costs €240 per attempt against €270 for OMPT-D, the official preparation estimate is about 100 hours against 120, and it has no Geometry chapter. OMPT-D only makes sense if you also apply to a programme elsewhere that requires it.
- How long should I prepare for the Absalon OMPT test?
- Use the test provider's estimate for the module you pick: about 100 hours for OMPT-B or 120 hours for OMPT-D. A timed diagnostic mock taken before you study shows which of the chapters you can skip. Count back from your application deadline: results take up to 8 business days and a slot has to be booked 72 hours ahead.