Exam.ify

Math entrance exam guide

Católica Lisbon School of Business & Economics Math Entrance Exam (OMPT)

Católica Lisbon School of Business & Economics (CLSBE) accepts the OMPT at 70%, with a maximum of two attempts, for all five of its bachelor programmes, but only from International Student Status applicants without an eligible maths exam. No module letter is published.

Which OMPT module does Católica Lisbon School of Business & Economics require?

ProgrammeFaculty / campusOMPT moduleMin. scoreNotes
International Undergraduate Program in Economics & FinanceCatólica Lisbon School of Business & EconomicsLisbonOMPT (module not specified)70% (max. 2 attempts)International Student Status applicants without an eligible maths exam only. ENEM Matemática (min. 750/1000) also accepted for Brazilian applicants.
International Undergraduate Program in Business AdministrationCatólica Lisbon School of Business & EconomicsLisbonOMPT (module not specified)70% (max. 2 attempts)International Student Status applicants without an eligible maths exam only. The same rule covers Management & Data Analytics and the Portuguese-taught Licenciaturas em Economia and em Administração e Gestão de Empresas.

Requirements can change between admission cycles. Always confirm the current requirement on the official programme page before applying.

Católica Lisbon School of Business & Economics OMPT requirements at a glance

Católica Lisbon School of Business & Economics publishes an OMPT requirement for 2 programmes on its official admission pages. The modules involved are . Grouped by module, the programmes are:

  • OMPT (module not specified): International Undergraduate Program in Economics & Finance, International Undergraduate Program in Business Administration

Every listed programme asks for a minimum OMPT score of 70%. Compare passing scores across all universities.

When to take the OMPT for a Católica Lisbon School of Business & Economics application

OMPT results arrive within 8 business days and a test slot has to be booked at least 72 hours in advance, so the last safe test date is about 12 calendar days before the application deadline. If you want one retake in reserve, sit the first attempt about 38 days before the deadline. Most programmes allow up to three attempts, each at the full fee, but some count only the first attempt, so confirm the rule on the programme page linked in the table.

Each attempt costs €240 (OMPT-A, B, C, E, G) or €270 (OMPT-D, F). A full-length timed mock before the first paid attempt shows whether you are already above the minimum score. How to book the OMPT, step by step.

Católica Lisbon School of Business & Economics OMPT requirements explained

Católica Lisbon School of Business & Economics (Católica-Lisbon SBE, often shortened to CLSBE) uses the OMPT as its online Mathematics Admissions Test. The minimum score is 70%, you get at most two attempts, and the result of a third attempt is not accepted. The test is only open to applicants under Portugal's International Student Status who do not already hold an eligible high-school mathematics exam. The same rule appears on the pages of all five bachelor programmes, and none of them names an OMPT module. Examify checked this against the official application pages and the 2026/2027 Call for Applications Notice on 27 September 2026.

Católica Lisbon OMPT requirements by programme

ProgrammeFaculty/campusOMPT moduleMinimum scoreAttempt rule / notes
International Undergraduate Program in Business AdministrationCatólica-Lisbon SBE, LisbonNot named70%Max. 2 attempts. International Student Status applicants without an eligible maths exam only. Source
International Undergraduate Program in Economics & FinanceCatólica-Lisbon SBE, LisbonNot named70%Max. 2 attempts. Brazilian applicants may use ENEM Matemática (min. 750/1000) instead. Source
International Undergraduate Program in Management & Data AnalyticsCatólica-Lisbon SBE, LisbonNot named70%Max. 2 attempts. Same eligibility rule as above. Source
Licenciatura em Economia / Licenciatura em Administração e Gestão de EmpresasCatólica-Lisbon SBE, LisbonNot named70%Max. 2 attempts. Taught in Portuguese in year 1; Portuguese proficiency required. Source

Three points on these pages matter more than the 70%.

The first is who may sit the test at all. Católica limits it to applicants who are under the International Student Status Regulation and who also lack an eligible mathematics exam. In the Call for Applications Notice, an international student is someone without Portuguese nationality who is not an EU national, not the family member of an EU or Portuguese citizen, and who has not lived legally in Portugal for more than two years on 1 January of the year of entry. The pages also ask you to contact the Marketing & Admissions Office (ug.admissions.clsbe@ucp.pt) to confirm eligibility before you register. Do it. One email protects a fee of €240 or more.

The second is that the OMPT replaces only the maths exam. Every applicant still needs a secondary school diploma, a Second Entrance Exam from Católica's list (economics, history, geography, philosophy, physics and chemistry or English, or a foreign equivalent), English at B2 or higher with C1 recommended, a CV, a personal statement of 350 to 500 words and a pitch video of about one minute.

The third is that the list of eligible maths exams is long, and if yours is on it you cannot take the OMPT route. It includes A Level Mathematics and Further Pure, IB Mathematics Analysis and Approaches (HL or SL) and Applications and Interpretations (HL), AP Calculus AB and BC, both European Baccalaureate maths courses, the German Abitur, the French Bac, Spanish Matemáticas II and national exams from India, Nepal, South Africa and more than 25 other countries. The web pages say the exam must have been taken in 2022 to 2026; the Call for Applications Notice says exams have no expiration date. If your exam is older than 2022, ask which rule applies.

How the maths score counts in your application grade

Católica ranks every application on a 0 to 200 scale and sets the minimum application grade at 140/200. The 2026/2027 notice gives these weights:

ComponentWeightMinimum
Secondary education final grade40%100/200
Mathematics exam30%100/200
Second Entrance Exam15%100/200
Profile: CV, personal statement with pitch video, English certificate (5% each)15%120/200 each

The maths exam is the second largest component. Passing the OMPT fulfils the mathematics requirement, the pages say, but it does not guarantee a place, and they do not explain how an OMPT percentage is converted onto the 0 to 200 scale. What they do say is that a waitlisted applicant can upload a higher maths grade and have the application reassessed, so the maths score carries weight beyond the pass mark. Treat 70% as the entry ticket, not the target. If your ranking or scholarship depends on it, ask admissions how the conversion works.

Which OMPT module Católica Lisbon uses

Neither the programme pages nor the 2026/2027 Call for Applications Notice names a module letter. The pages point to omptest.org for the topics and tell you to register by choosing "Católica Lisbon School of Business and Economics" and then your programme, so the module follows from that choice. Look at which test the OMPT store shows you before you pay, and email admissions if it is unclear.

Business and economics schools elsewhere in Examify's university table mostly use OMPT-A, some use OMPT-F, and Erasmus IBEB also accepts OMPT-B. Figures come from the official syllabi and the OMPT pricing page.

OMPT-AOMPT-BOMPT-F
Questions526421
Time120 minutes150 minutes180 minutes
Minutes per questionabout 2.3about 2.3about 8.6
Chapters8106
Topics176226149
Suggested preparation (official)about 80 hoursabout 100 hoursabout 80 hours
Fee per attempt€240€240€270
Correct answers for 70%about 37 of 52about 45 of 64about 15 of 21

OMPT-A's eight chapters are Numbers, Algebra, Linear formulas and equations, Systems of linear equations, Quadratic equations, Functions, Exponential functions and logarithms, and Differentiation. OMPT-B is the same eight plus Trigonometry and Integration. All six OMPT-F chapters are already in OMPT-A; F tests them in fewer, longer multi-step questions. So the OMPT-A chapters are the common core, and you lose nothing by starting there while you wait for admissions to confirm the module. Chapter lists with topic counts are on Examify's syllabus pages for OMPT-A, OMPT-B and OMPT-F.

Católica Lisbon's 70% in context

70% sits in the middle of the 60% to 75% range most programmes use. The closest match is Tilburg University, whose economics and business programmes also ask 70% on OMPT-A with a maximum of two attempts. Erasmus IBEB asks 70% on OMPT-A but counts only the first attempt, and the University of Amsterdam asks 70% on OMPT-A for Psychology and PPLE. Maastricht SBE and RSM's International Business Administration ask 75%. In Portugal, Católica Porto Business School accepts OMPT-A but does not publish a minimum score.

The two-attempt cap is what shapes your plan. A first attempt at 66% leaves exactly one more try, and a third result will be ignored even if it passes. On OMPT-A, 70% means about 37 correct answers out of 52, so you can miss about 15. Book only when a full timed mock lands at 80% or above: mock scores move between sittings, and the real exam adds a proctor, an ID check and strict final-answer grading. The full comparison is in OMPT passing scores, and the OMPT retake policy explains how attempt caps differ by university.

How to prepare for the Católica Lisbon OMPT

  1. Email admissions first. Confirm that you fall under the International Student Status and that your school maths exam is not on the eligible list.
  2. Find out which module your programme registration assigns before you buy an attempt.
  3. Sit a full-length diagnostic mock with the timer on and answers typed. The free OMPT practice test shows harder questions in the real answer box; for the full diagnostic take the OMPT-A generation-1 mock, or the OMPT-B or OMPT-F mock if that is your module.
  4. Score the mock per chapter and give your weakest chapters the first hours. On OMPT-A the weight sits in Functions, Exponential functions and logarithms, and Differentiation.
  5. Practise in the answer format from day one. The OMPT checks final answers with a computer algebra system, so a correct method with an ambiguous final answer earns nothing. OMPT answer input and calculator notes covers the rules.
  6. From week two, run drills at exam pace: about 2.3 minutes per question on OMPT-A and OMPT-B, about 8.6 on OMPT-F.
  7. Take a second full mock about a week before your slot. Book only at 80% or higher; otherwise move the slot rather than spend one of your two attempts.

For a week-by-week version see improve your OMPT score in 30 days, and how long does OMPT preparation take shows how to turn a diagnostic score into study hours.

Booking, deadlines and results for Católica Lisbon applicants

An OMPT slot has to be booked at least 72 hours in advance. Católica does not pay for the exam. The test provider's regular grading time is 8 business days, about 12 calendar days; Católica's pages say results can take up to 5 working days. Plan on the longer figure. Optional fast grading costs €120 per attempt and returns results within 4 business days. You then upload the certificate on your Application Status Page.

International Student Status applicants can apply only in the first three rounds. For 2026/2027 these ran from 3 December 2025 to 7 January 2026, 8 January to 4 March 2026, and 5 March to 29 April 2026, with conditional results on 28 January, 25 March and 27 May. If you apply later you are no longer treated under the International Student Status, which also closes the OMPT route. The pages give 3 June 2026 as the OMPT submission deadline, but our advice is to have the certificate before you submit, so the jury scores a complete file. The application fee was €100 until 29 April 2026 and €180 from 30 April, payable within 72 hours of submitting or the application is archived.

Places are few. The 2026/2027 notice lists 18 International Student Status places in Business Administration, 13 in Economics & Finance and 6 in Management & Data Analytics, and 3 each in the two Portuguese-taught licenciaturas. Apply in round 1 or 2. First-year tuition for non-EU students in the international programmes was 10 monthly payments of €858 in 2026/2027.

Count backwards from your round. With one attempt and no buffer, test at least 12 calendar days before you want to submit. With a retake in reserve, count 38 days: 12 for results, 14 to fix weak chapters and rebook, and 12 for the second result. In the 2026/2027 cycle, a round 2 applicant keeping a retake in reserve needed the first attempt done by about 25 January. The 2027/2028 calendar had not been published when we checked, so take the new dates from the programme page. Booking steps and proctoring rules are in how to book the OMPT, and the programme table is kept current on the Católica Lisbon page.

Requirements can change between intakes, so confirm the module, score and attempt limit with Católica-Lisbon SBE before you pay for a slot. Examify is independent and not affiliated with the OMPT, SOWISO or any university.

{name} OMPT: frequently asked questions

Which OMPT module does Católica Lisbon School of Business & Economics require?
Católica Lisbon School of Business & Economics lists 2 programmes with an OMPT requirement, using . The most common requirement is OMPT (module not specified), asked for by 2 programmes. The exact module for each programme is in the table above, sourced from the university's own admission page.
What is the minimum OMPT score for Católica Lisbon School of Business & Economics?
Every Católica Lisbon School of Business & Economics programme listed here requires at least 70% on the OMPT. The score is set by the programme, not by the test provider, and can change between admission cycles.
How do I prepare for the Católica Lisbon School of Business & Economics OMPT test?
Start with a full-length timed mock of the module your programme requires () to find your weak chapters, then work through those chapters on the syllabus page. Examify builds independent practice tests for every OMPT module; it is not affiliated with the official test provider.
Which OMPT module does Católica Lisbon require?
Católica-Lisbon SBE does not name a module on any programme page or in its Call for Applications Notice. You register on omptest.org by choosing Católica Lisbon School of Business and Economics and then your programme, and the module follows from that choice. Check which test the store shows before paying. OMPT-A is the safest starting point for study, because its chapters also cover all of OMPT-F and most of OMPT-B.
What is the minimum OMPT score for Católica Lisbon SBE?
70% for all five bachelor programmes: Business Administration, Economics & Finance and Management & Data Analytics in English, and the Portuguese-taught licenciaturas in Economia and Administração e Gestão de Empresas. Passing fulfils the mathematics requirement but does not guarantee a place, because the maths exam is 30% of an application grade that must reach 140/200.
How many OMPT attempts does Católica Lisbon allow?
Two. The pages say the result of a third attempt will not be accepted, and omptest.org lists Católica Lisbon among the institutions that do not allow the usual three attempts. Each attempt is bought separately at €240 for OMPT-A or OMPT-B and €270 for OMPT-F, so book only when a full timed mock is at 80% or above.
Who can take the Católica Lisbon Mathematics Admissions Test?
Only applicants under the International Student Status who do not hold an eligible mathematics exam. In practice that means non-EU nationals who have not lived legally in Portugal for more than two years, with some exceptions for family members of EU citizens. EU citizens apply under the General Regime with an eligible exam. Católica asks you to email ug.admissions.clsbe@ucp.pt to confirm eligibility before registering.
Does Católica Lisbon accept the SAT or A-levels instead of the OMPT?
A Level Mathematics, IB Mathematics, AP Calculus AB or BC and many national exams are on Católica's list of eligible maths exams, and if you hold one you use it instead of the OMPT. SAT Math is not on that list; SAT Reading and Writing appears only as a possible Second Entrance Exam. Brazilian applicants can use ENEM Matemática e suas Tecnologias with at least 750/1000.
When is the OMPT deadline for Católica Lisbon?
For 2026/2027 the pages gave 3 June 2026 for submitting the OMPT result, but International Student Status applicants had to apply in one of the first three rounds, the last closing on 29 April 2026. Results take up to 8 business days, so sit the test before you submit. The 2027/2028 dates had not been published when Examify checked on 27 September 2026.

Sources

Last verified: 2026-09-27